This charming landmark near the corner of Naskeag and Back Roads looks like it was designed for Maine snow. Owned by neighbor Sharron Ellis, it was built in 1899 — without the porch — by her grandfather, Minard Freethy. The porch was added by Sharron about 1997, but its parts date from the 1850s.
Some think the house originally was a Sears, Roebuck Company catalog house shipped in parts, but Sharon doesn’t think so. It looks more like a version of American Foursquare architecture, which was popular in the late 1800s.
Whatever it is, it’s a friendly sight on the way to the harbor. (Brooklin, Maine)